Month: July 2013

  • Leaving Xanga

    On May 2nd, 2004, I joined Xanga at the request of my girlfriend (who later became my wife). At the time, I didn’t understand blogging. I didn’t enjoy sitting at my computer and talking about my feelings about things going on in my life, and I certainly didn’t want to read about the lives of other people, especially if I did not know them. Nevertheless, Tesia had a Xanga account, all of our friends had a Xanga account, and she wanted me to have a Xanga account too, so I opened my first one. I won’t reveal the name of that one because I got very personal in it, and some of it is embarrassing for me to read, even though it was almost 10 years ago.
    I quickly grew tired of my user name, so I opened a different account. When I opened that account, Xanga was in its prime, or at least that’s how it appeared to me. I began to explore a bit more– As my friends slowly started leaving Xanga, I began to branch out and read the blogs on Xanga’s top blogs. I didn’t realize that that would change my life.

    Eventually, I trashed that account too, and on September 24th, 2007, I created the account I now have, “jmallory”.
    Under this account, I got to get to know so many people. I became friends with people I’ve never physically met before. Under this account, I told the story of my relationship. You were all here for me when I was going through some of the hardest times in my life, and also here for the best ones. You were here for my quest for finding God. You were here for my engagement, my wedding, my birthdays. You supported me. You debated me. You held me accountable. You loved me, and I’ve taken all that for granted. I never thought I’d see the day when Xanga closes its doors.

    It still may not happen. I’ve seen crazier things… But if Xanga does close and I never see any of you again, I just want to tell you “Thank you” for all you’ve done for me. I wouldn’t be where I am in life without you.
    If there is no coming back to Xanga, you can find me at these places:

    pathtorevolution.wordpress.com
    www.twitter.com/jimmy_mallory
    www.facebook.com/anarchorthodoxy

    I must confess, I am still trying to figure out wordpress, and I don’t use twitter much, so it may be a slow start for me. But if you want to stay in contact with me, you will find me in all three places.
    I hope to see you all on Xanga 2.0, but if not, farewell, and thank you!

    -jmallory (Jimmy)

  • About Our Pregnancy…

    Hey everyone. I wanted to give you all a quick update.

    Tesia went to the hospital yesterday after experiencing some bleeding.
    What she had was called a chemical pregnancy. The egg was fertilized, but for whatever reason, the body either rejected it or it just never implanted. According to the doctor, the average married couple experiences 5 to 8 of these pregnancies in the life of their marriage, and they remain unaware that there was even a conception. Tesia is no longer pregnant. We are sad, of course, but we are looking forward to the future. This past week made us both realize that we are ready for kids. Thank you all for your support.

  • 27 Things for 27 Years

    This is my third year in a row doing this on my birthday. It may be my last.

    1. I turned 27 today.

    2. This is already shaping up to be a good year.

    3. I normally get nervous when my birthday comes around.

    4. I realize how quick life is starting to go.

    5. I haven’t been on Xanga for a few weeks.

    6. Life has been pretty busy lately.

    7. We recently moved to a new home.

    8. The previous owners left it messy, and they had a lot of cats.

    9. I think you can see where I am going with this.

    10. We had to rip up about 80% of the carpet in the house.

    11. We replaced much of it with hardwood laminate flooring.

    12. Because of this, I am learning many new life skills.

    13. I am very blessed.

    14. The house we are moving into is going to function as a ministry house.

    15. We will have house church, host bible studies, and hold common meals at our home.

    16. My wife and I have two roommates that will live with us.

    17. One is getting married in October.

    18. We are really about to have three room mates.

    19. It sounds weird that a married couple would live like this.

    20. We happen to enjoy it.

    21. I’m still really sad about what’s happening with Xanga.

    22. Assuming it goes to a paysite, I won’t be returning.

    23. I’ve made a WordPress blog in preparation, the details of which are coming soon.

    24. Xanga has been here for me through a lot. My break up and getting back together with Tesia, other highs and lows, my engagement and marriage… It could go on and on…

    25. I’ve always thought I would announce the birth of my first child on Xanga.

    26. Monday, Tesia took a pregnancy test.

    27. I’m going to be a daddy for the first time :)